Southern Counties Combination League

The Southern Counties Combination was formed in 1971 following the disbandment of the Isthmian and Athenian reserve sections. Clubs based in London and the Home Counties joined the newly formed Suburban League, Essex & Herts Border Combination and Middlesex Border League, and so the Sussex clubs formed the Southern Counties Combination.

The displaced reserve teams of Eastbourne Town, Horsham, Lewes, Redhill and Worthing, were joined by Crawley Town, Pagham and Wigmore Athletic reserves, as well as Brighton & Hove Albion ‘A’ who were all unable to join the Sussex County League reserve section. The league quickly grew and had teams from Sussex and Surrey Universities competing as well as Sussex Police.

By 1980 more first teams were competing in the league and by 1982 the league had expanded to three divisions. However league membership started to rapidly decline following the formation of Division Three of the Sussex County League and by 1984 the league consisted of the just the one division once more. The league folded following the 1987-88 season with Stamco finishing as champions.

Sources: 'Thyme Machine' on Non League Matters Forum, Alun Thomas - Hailsham Town researcher, Aaron Hill.